
 

 

 

 

2025 USUA Umpire Rules Certification Test 
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY!! 

These questions have been designed to possibly have more than one answer according to different rule sets. 

Mark all correct Answers - Both NFHS AND MLB(OBR) rules apply!! 

One question MAY have multiple answers!  

HINT: Question worth 2 pts MAY only have 1 answer... Question worth 4 pts MAY have 2 answers... 

Can an outfielder catch an infield fly? 

A: YES  

B: NO 

  In the 4th inning Wanlass is replaced as the pitcher with Rose. The team used a charged 
conference on defense in the second inning. Rose's first two pitches are wild and the pitching coach 
comes out to talk to Rose to calm him down. 

A: Allow the conference 

B: Warn the pitching coach that he cannot make another conference. If he continues his ejected and the pitcher 
will be substituted for after he completes the at-bat. 

C: Eject the pitching coach immediately and Rose is removed after he finishes pitching to one batter. 

D: Only allow the head coach to make the conference to the mound. 

R1 and B 2 are both between first and second base after a clean hit to the outfield  when the left 
fielder throws the ball into 3rd base. The ball gets past the third baseman and rolls into the dugout. 

A: Both the runner and the batter-runner are awarded home. 

B: The lead runner is awarded third and the batter runner is awarded second. 

C: Both runners are awarded 3rd base. Since they cannot both occupy 3rd, the lead runner is awarded home. 

D: The lead runner is awarded second and the batter-runner must remain at first. 

B1 hits a single to right field. At the time the bat hits the ball, the heel of B1's front foot is on the 
chalk of the batter's box. His toes are making contact with home plate. 

A: This is an illegally batted ball. The batter is out.  

B: This is legal. 

  With a 1-2 Count and no runners on base, B1hits a fly ball down the right-field    line. While the ball 
is in the air, the umpire inadvertently declares, "foul ball". The ball then falls to the ground in fair 
territory. The coach of the offensive team requests the umpires to get together, changed the call 
and award be won the base he would have reached had the correct call been made. 

A: The crew can get together, change the call and award be one the base he would have reached had the correct 
call been made. 

B: The ball is dead and must be enforced as a foul ball. The crew cannot correct the mistake. 



 

 

 

 

R1 slides hard into F4. R1 and F4 begin pushing each other. F6, the on-deck batter (B3) and a bench 
player (S4) run to second base to break up the fight. 

A: F6 and B3 Are not penalized unless they participate in the fighting. S4 Is ejected for leaving the dugout. 

B: F6, B3 and S4 Are ejected whether or not they actively fight or attempt to break up the fight. 

C: F6, S4 and B3 are not penalized unless they participate in the fighting. 

D: F6 is not penalized Because he was the closest individual to try to break up the fight. B3 and S4 are ejected. 

 With R1 on first, F1, in the stretch position, steps quickly back off the pitcher's plate and with a 
motion much like F1's pitching delivery, throws to the plate. R1 is thrown out stealing by F2 on a 
pitch out. 

A: This is a balk. While F1 is not touching the pitcher's plate, F1 shall not make any movement naturally associated 
with the pitch. 

B: This is legal. Offense is responsible for discerning if the picture is or is not engaged with the pitching plate. 

B2 Hits a sharp ground ball to F6. F6 makes an off, fast throw to F3. Batter-runner slides head first 
into first base in foul territory, touching first base with his left hand, and over slides first base, F3 
stumbles on the play, makes the catch and immediately tags B2 on the over slide. 

A: Interference. B2 is out.  

B: B2 is out, off the base.  

C: B2 is safe. 

F2 sets up prior to a pitch with his entire foot out of the catcher box. 

A: Call time and request F2 to take a legal position 

B: There is no requirement where F2 takes his initial position except for pitches during an intentional walk 

C: F2 must only have 1 foot in the catcher’s box until the pitcher begins his motion to 

pitch 

D: If he is required to have both feet in the catcher’s box until the ball is released    

E: if he is required to have both feet in the catchers box at the time of the pitch 

 A coach's defensive conference at the mound is considered concluded: 

  A: When the coach or non-playing representative crosses the foul line. 

  B: When The coach or non-playing representative returns to within a few feet of the vicinity of the dugout. 

  C: When the umpire visits the mound during the defense of conference. 

  D: B: When The coach or non-playing representative leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitch's rubber. 

 R1 who is in the starting lineup, turns his ankle while running the bases trying to go from 1st to 3rd 
on a base hit. A pinch runner can enter the game for him, and our one can re-enter the game later 
after getting medical attention. 

A: True  



 

 

 

 

B: False 

With a runner on second, one out and a 2-2 count, B3 strikes out swinging on a pitch in the dirt. The 
ball bounces forward off of F2 and into the path of B3, who, as he begins to run to first, inadvertently 
kicks the ball away from the catcher who is attempting to pick up the ball. 

  A: Leave the ball and play as B3 did not intentionally kick the ball1 

  B: the ball is dead, if the umpire judges that the action clearly hindered the catchers attempt to field the ball. 2 

 Umpires can call an infield fly on a ball that is intentionally dropped. 

A: the ball is dead, the batter is out and all runners need to retouch their bases.  

B: call time, the batter is out and all runners are rewarded one base. 

C: the ball is dead, but it is awarded first base runners advanced one base if forced. 

D: the ball remains live, the batter is out and any runners advance at their own risk. 

Which of the following final judgments are specifically mentioned in the rules as those which 
cannot be argued. 

A: Fair or foul.  

B: Safe or out.  

C: Hit by pitch.  

D: A and B 

E: A, B, & C 

An intentional based on balls can be awarded upon a communication from:   

A: the head coach of the defensive team.  

B: the catcher of the defensive team. 

C: any coach of the defensive team.  

D: Any of the above 

  At the pregame plate conference, the umpire issue warning to both teams for any player, throwing 
a bat while participating in the game. 

A: That is the correct protocol. A player who throws his bat will be ejected on the first offense of the game 

B: That is not the correct protocol. An umpire may issue a warning to both teams at the first instance a player is 
observed, throwing his bat 

C: That is not the correct protocol. An umpire may only issue a warning to only the team of the offending player. At 
the first instance, a player is observed, throwing his bat. 

D: That is not the correct protocol. The umpire will handle thrown bats on a case-by-case basis. 

Lineups become official when: 

A: The head coaches provide the lineups to the plate umpire.  



 

 

 

 

B: The head coaches exchange lineups with each other. 

C: The plate umpire accepts a lineup card. 

D: The lineup cards have been exchanged, verified, and then accepted by the plate umpire during the pregame 
conference. 

E: When the umpire hands a copy to each coach. 

To consider in fair territory a fielder (other than the catcher) must have: 

A: Both feet, touching fair territory. 

B: At least one foot touching fair territory 

C: Both feet in foul territory, but reaching over into fair territory. 

D: One foot in the air over fair territory(jumping from foul to Fair territory). 

A legal baseball must:   

A: Have only the NFHS authenticating mark.  

B: Have only the SEI/NOCSAE Mark. 

C: Have both the NFHS mark and the SEI/NOCSAE Mark. 

D: No specific Mark is required to meet rulebook specifications. 

With a runner on second and no one out, B2 attempts a sacrifice bunt. As B2 runs to first, he is 
outside the runner's Lane. Who fields the bunt and looks towards first but doesn't throw due to B2's 
position. 

A: B2 Is safe at first, R2 remains at third base.  

B: B2 Is safe at first, R2 returns to second base. 

C: B2 is out for interference, but R2 remains at third base.  

D: B2 is out for interference and R2 returns to second base. 

A fielder will be considered to have caught the ball in flight when: 

  A: He has secured the ball in his cap. 

  B: He has the ball in his glove for two steps before dropping the ball. 

  C: He has secured possession in foul ground and then steps with both feet into his dugout. 

  D: The batted ball in flight caromed off a runner and was secured by the fielder before touching the ground. 

The catcher comes to his position wearing a skull gap (no ear flaps) and an unattached mask both 
pieces of gear are in good condition. 

 A: As long as the opposing coach does not express concern, the catcher will be permitted to where this 
combination. 

 B: This combination of equipment is legal as it is. 

 C: This combination of equipment is illegal. The catcher must wear a helmet mask combination that meets 
NOCSAE standards. 



 

 

 

 

Cal Ripken/ Babe Ruth - The catcher comes to his position wearing a skull gap (no ear flaps) and an 
unattached mask both pieces of gear are in good condition. 

  A: This combination of equipment is legal for all ages 

  B: This combination of equipment is legal for Babe Ruth ages only. 

C: This combination of equipment is illegal for Cal Ripken ages only. 

Jones, advancing from first to third, fails to touch second base and is standing on third when the 
throw from the outfield goes into the dugout. 

A: The umpire is to immediately declare Jones out for missing second base. 

B: Because Jones missed second base, he cannot be awarded home from the errant throw to the dugout. 

C: If Jones attempts to return to second base, the defense cannot appeal his missing 2nd until Jones has 
completed his opportunity to correct the mistake. 

D: Jones cannot legally return to his missed base and is subject to being declared out upon proper and successful 
appeal. 

To start a game each team must have:   

A: Nine players.   

B: Eight players. 

C: As many players as the coaches agree upon. 

D: As many players as specified by the governed body. 

With a runner on first base in less than 2 outs, the ball is immediately dead:   

A: An infielder intentionally drops a fair bunt.    

B: An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly 

C: I run her on base deliberately removes his helmet with a play being made as he slides home. 

D: Both A and B. 

A ball is determined as a large ball if it is: 

A: Stock.    

B: Wedged. 

C: Unreachable. 

D: All of the above. 

 Smith, the number 5 hitter strains his knee sliding into second base on a double. He is not able to 
continue and the team does not have a substitute available. 

  A: Smith is declared out. 

  B: The on deck batter will run for Smith. 

  C: The most recent batter not on base is allowed to run for Smith. 



 

 

 

 

D: The game is a forfeit to the opposing team. 

With a runner on second one out, B3 swings and misses the pitch for strike two. His follow-through 
unintentionally hits F2 attempting to throw out or two who is successfully steals third base. 

A: this is interference. Both are two and B3 are declared out. 

B: this is interference, and R2 is declared out, and B3 remains at bat.    

C: this is interference. B3 is Outten or two returns to second base. 

D: there is no interference, the ball is dead, and are two returns to second base   E: there is no interference. The 
place stands. 

With a runner on third and one out, B3 hits a pop fly near the first base dug out. F3 who makes the 
catch before stepping into the dugout with 1 foot maintains his balance and immediately turns to 
live ball territory. 

A: the ball remains live if the ground rules state “catch and carry” into the dugout is allowed if the fielder doesn’t 
fall down. 

B: the catch is disallowed; foul ball. 

C: the ball is dead , the batter is out and R3 scores.    

D: the batter is out and R3 stays at third. 

 With a runner on second, one out and a one-two count, B3 strikes out on a pitch in the dirt. The ball 
deflects off of F2 and contacts B3‘s leg, falling directly to the ground. F2 picks up the ball, then 
drops it and fails to make a play on either R2 or B3. 

A: anytime a deflected pitch touches the batter, it is dead. 

B: the ball remains live until B3 clearly hinder B2’s attempt to field the ball. 

With a runner on second and one out, B3 fakes a bunt and remains in the batters box. F2 return 
throw to pitcher hits B3‘s bat and rolls towards first base. R2 attempts to advance to third but is 
thrown out. 

A: interference. Battery is out in our two returns to second base. 

B: no interference. The ball remains live, and the result of the place stands. 

C: no interference, but the ball is dead. And R2 returns to second base. 

Speedy B1 hits a fair ball that bounces into right field corner. A spectator lies over the fence onto 
the field and picks up the ball. The umpires have the option of placing the runner at third base if 
they think B1 would have obtained that base without spectator interference. 

A: true  

B: false 

The visiting teams batting order is able Baker, Charles, Daniel, Edward. Charles had batted lead off 
the entire season and goes to bat first, striking out to begin the game. Baker comes to bat next and 
doubles. The home team head coach appeals that Baker batted out of order. 



 

 

 

 

  A: Rule Daniel out, remove Baker from second base and bring Edward up to bat.    

B: Legal play. Was listed as the second batter and batted in the proper order. 

C: Rule Baker out and bring Daniel up to bat next.    

D: Rule Baker out and bring Charles up to bat. 

Andy is listed as the P/DH In the 5th spot of the starting lineup. In the third inning, George replaces 
Frank as pitcher, but Andy remains in the game as the DH for George. And inning later, the coach 
would like Andy to return to pitch. 

A: This move is not permitted. Andy may remain in the lineup as the DH but cannot return to pitch. 

B: This move is legal, but the DH role is terminated for the remainder of the game and George will be substituted 
for. 

C: This move is legal, but only George may serve as the DH.    

D: This move is legal and Andy may become the P/DH again.    

E: A P/DH is not permitted. 

I am a better umpire for taking this quiz? 

A: True    

B: False 


